General practitioners prescribe fewer antibiotics

General practitioners prescribe fewer antibiotics

In recent years, Statutory Health Insurance Physicians in Germany have prescribed consistently fewer antibiotics. This is the result of the German Health Care Atlas study commissioned by the Central Research Institute for Ambulatory Health Care in Germany (Zi).
Among other things, this study analysed the frequency of antibiotic prescriptions issued by statutory health insurers. The period covered the years 2010 to 2018 and also took into account trends in age groups and medication groups.
Overall, the prescribing fell by 21%. In the 0-14 age group there was even a decrease of 41%. For newborns and infants it was even 49%, the clearest decrease among all age groups. Thus the experts note a change in paediatric care.
Since 2012, the German Health Care Atlas has published figures on the outpatient use of systemic antibiotics in Germany. These serve as the basis for an appropriate use of antibiotics in the country.

Source:

Holstiege J, Schulz M, Akmatov MK, Steffen A, Bätzing J. (2019): Outpatient use of systemic antibiotics in Germany from 2010 to 2018—A population-based study. Central Research Institute for Ambulatory Health Care in Germany (Zi). Versorgungsatlas-Report No. 19/07. Berlin.

Niedergelassene Ärzte verschreiben weniger Antibiotika

Niedergelassene Ärzte verschreiben weniger Antibiotika

Niedergelassene Ärzte in Deutschland verschrieben in den letzten Jahren immer weniger Antibiotika. Zu diesem Ergebnis kommt die Versorgungsatlas-Studie, die im Auftrag des Zentralinstituts für die kassenärztliche Versorgung durchgeführt wurde.

In dieser Studie wurde unteranderem die Häufigkeit der Antibiotikaverordnungen von gesetzlich Versicherten analysiert. Der Zeitraum umfasste dabei die Jahre 2010 bis 2018 und berücksichtige ebenfalls Trends in Altersklassen und Wirkstoffgruppen

Insgesamt gingen die Verordnungen um 21% zurück. In der Altersgruppe von 0-14 Jahren wurde sogar ein Rückgang um 41% festgestellt. Bei Neugeborenen und Säuglingen waren es sogar 49%, der deutlichste Rückgang unter allen Altersgruppen. Somit stellen die Experten einen Wandel in der pädiatrischen Versorgung fest.

Der Versorgungsatlas veröffentlich seit 2012 Kennzahlen zu dem ambulanten Gebrauch systemischer Antibiotika in Deutschland. Diese dienen als Basis für einen sachgerechten Antibiotikaeinsatz im Land.

 

Quelle:

Holstiege J, Schulz M, Akmatov MK, Steffen A, Bätzing J. (2019): Update: Die ambulante Anwendung systemischer Antibiotika in Deutschland im Zeitraum 2010 bis 2018 – Eine populationsbasierte Studie. Zentralinstitut für die kassenärztliche Versorgung in Deutschland (Zi). Versorgungsatlas-Bericht Nr. 19/07. Berlin.