Global increase in antibiotic resistance in livestock farming

The global increase in antibiotic resistance in livestock farming

To date, discussions on the increased use of antibiotics in agriculture have increasingly been held in industrialised countries. In particular in centres of mass livestock farming. So far, there was no global consideration of developments in emerging and developing countries.

Now, a research team from ETH Zurich, the Princeton Environmental Institute (PEI), and the Free University of Brussels has published a new paper. This paper highlights the extent of antibiotic resistance in livestock farming. For this purpose, 1000 scientific articles and veterinary reports were analysed and evaluated.

The result shows that between 2000 and 2018 there was an increase in the number of antibiotics with resistances of over 50% (P50) in developing countries. In chickens, there was an increase from 0.15 to 0.41 and in pigs from 0.13 to 0.34. This means that antibiotics used in 40% of chickens and about 33% of pigs fail in more than half the cases.

Hotspots of these resistances are the regions in the northeast of India and China. But also the north of Pakistan, Iran, the east of Turkey are affected. Further is the south coast of Brazil, the delta of the red river in Vietnam and the surroundings around Johannesburg and Mexico City. Also, there are further regions e.g. in Kenya, Morocco or Uruguay. In these regions, there is likewise a significant increase in antibiotic resistance.

The rise in resistance in livestock farming is also accompanied by the increasing consumption of animal proteins in those regions. The researchers recommend taking immediate action to counteract rising consumption and resistance. In particular, they warn that antibiotics for humans will continue to be used in mass livestock farming. Unfortunately, this also increases the risk for humans that vital antibiotics will no longer work.

Globaler Anstieg von Antibiotikaresistenzen in der Nutztierhaltung

Globaler Anstieg von Antibiotikaresistenzen in der Nutztierhaltung

Bisher wurde Diskussionen über den erhöhten Einsatz von Antibiotika in der Landwirtschaft verstärkt in Industrienationen – insbesondere Zentren der Massentierhaltung – geführt. Eine globale Betrachtung unter Einbezug der Entwicklungen in Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern blieb eher aus.

Nun hat ein Forscherteam der ETH Zürich, des Princeton Environmental Institute (PEI), und der Freien Universität Brüssel ein neues Paper veröffentlicht. Darin wird das Ausmaß der Antibiotikaresistenzen in der Viehhaltung deutlich. Dazu wurden fasst 1000 wissenschaftliche Artikel und Veterinärberichte analysiert und ausgewertet.

Das Ergebnis zeigt, dass es von 2000 bis 2018 einen Anstieg in der Zunahme von Antibiotika mit Resistenzen von über 50% (P50) in Entwicklungsländern gab. Bei Hühnern gab es einen Anstieg von 0,15 auf 0,41 und Schweinen von 0,13 auf 0,34. Das bedeutet, dass verwendete Antibiotika bei 40% der Hühner und etwa 33% der Schweine in mehr als die Hälfte der Fälle versagen.

Hotspots dieser Resistenzen bilden dabei die Regionen im Nordosten Indiens und China. Aber auch der Norden Pakistans, Iran, der Osten der Türkei sind betroffen. Ebenso die Südküste Brasiliens, das Delta des roten Flusses in Vietnam und die Umgebungen um Johannesburg und Mexiko-Stadt. Daneben gibt es weitere Regionen z.B. in Kenia, Marokko oder Uruguay. In diesen ist ebenfalls ein deutlicher Anstieg von Antibiotikaresistenzen verzeichnet.

Der Anstieg der Resistenzen in der Viehhaltung geht auch einher mit dem steigenden Konsum von tierischen Proteinen in den genannten Regionen. Die Forscher empfehlen sofortige Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um den steigenden Verbrauch und den Resistenzen entgegen zu wirken. Insbesondere warnen sie davor, dass weiterhin Antibiotika für den Menschen in der Massentierhaltung Verwendung finden. Dadurch steigt leider auch die Gefahr für den Menschen, dass lebenswichtige Antibiotika nicht mehr wirken.