Soil, water and vegetables contaminated with antibiotic-resistant bacteria

Soil, water and vegetables contaminated with antibiotic-resistant bacteria

According to the European Commission, antimicrobial medicines and micro-organisms resistant to these medicines in the environment constitute one of the biggest health threats in the world (Vytenis Andriukaitis, EU Commissioner for Health and Food Safety, March 2019).
Recent research by the RIVM shows that manure from pigs, cows, chickens, etc. as well as water that flows from sewage treatment plants contain many bacteria that are insensitive to certain types of antibiotics.
Manure and waste water from wastewater treatment plants polluted
RIVM investigated how many ESBL-producing E. coli bacteria end up in the soil and water via manure. The highest concentrations of ESBL-producing E. coli were found in manure from laying hens. These and other animals are regularly given antibiotics. This makes the intestinal bacteria of the animals resistant to several types of antibiotics. These multi-resistant bacteria then end up in the manure.
In addition to manure from farm animals, water (“effluent”) from sewage treatment plants is also an important source of resistant bacteria in the environment. Resistant bacteria in sewage come from human stools. Because the bacteria in the sewage treatment plant are not completely removed, they end up in the rivers, streams and canals that these plants discharge into. According to RIVM, people in contact with surface water contaminated with effluent and agricultural ditch water can come into contact with these multi-resistant bacteria of human and veterinary origin.
The RIVM study also shows that the total amount of multi-resistant bacteria that end up on the soil via manure is approximately the same as the amount that ends up in surface water via the effluent. Nevertheless, from manure and soil, only some of the resistant bacteria end up in surface water. Therefore, according to the researchers, effluent is a larger source of resistant bacteria in surface water than manure.
Contamination of agricultural crops
However, agricultural crops can also be contaminated. It is known that raw meat is an important source of multi-resistant bacteria. That raw vegetables can also be a source is less known. For example, a German study from 2018 showed that lettuce can be a reservoir of antibiotic resistance (Blau K et al. 2018). Research in the US (2019) shows that resistant bacteria from vegetables can colonize the intestines.

Boden, Wasser und Gemüse, kontaminiert mit antibiotikaresistenten Bakterien

Boden, Wasser und Gemüse, kontaminiert mit antibiotikaresistenten Bakterien

Nach Angaben der Europäischen Kommission stellen antimikrobielle Arzneimittel und Mikroorganismen, die gegen diese Arzneimittel in der Umwelt resistent sind, eine der größten Gesundheitsgefahren weltweit dar (Vytenis Andriukaitis, EU-Kommissar für Gesundheit und Lebensmittelsicherheit, März 2019).
Neuere Untersuchungen des niederländischen RIVM zeigen, dass Gülle von Schweinen, Kühen, Hühnern usw. sowie Wasser aus Kläranlagen viele Bakterien enthält, die für bestimmte Arten von Antibiotika unempfindlich sind.
Gülle und Abwasser aus Kläranlagen belastet
Das RIVM untersuchte, wie viele ESBL-produzierende E. coli-Bakterien über Gülle in den Boden und ins Wasser gelangen. Die höchsten Konzentrationen von ESBL produzierenden E. coli wurden in Gülle von Legehennen gefunden. Diese und andere Tiere erhalten regelmäßig Antibiotika. Dadurch sind die Darmbakterien der Tiere resistent gegen verschiedene Arten von Antibiotika. Diese multiresistenten Bakterien landen dann in der Gülle.
Neben Gülle von Nutztieren ist auch Wasser („Abwasser“) aus Kläranlagen eine wichtige Quelle für resistente Bakterien in der Umwelt. Resistente Bakterien im Abwasser stammen aus menschlichen Exkrementen. Da die Bakterien in der Kläranlage nicht vollständig entfernt werden, landen sie in den Flüssen, Bächen und Kanälen, in die diese Pflanzen eindringen. Laut RIVM können Menschen durch den Kontakt mit Oberflächenwasser in Berührung mit multiresistenten Bakterien kommen. Denn die Möglichkeit besteht, dass dieses Wasser durch Abwasser und landwirtschaftliche Nutzung verunreinigt ist.
Die RIVM-Studie zeigt auch, dass die Gesamtmenge der multiresistenten Bakterien, die über Gülle in den Boden gelangen, etwa gleich hoch ist wie die Menge, die über das Abwasser in das Oberflächenwasser gelangt. Dennoch gelangen aus Gülle und Boden nur ein Teil der resistenten Bakterien in das Oberflächenwasser. Daher ist das Abwasser nach Ansicht der Forscher eine größere Quelle resistenter Bakterien als Gülle.
Kontamination von landwirtschaftlichen Kulturen
Es ist bekannt, dass betraubtes Fleisch eine wichtige Quelle für multiresistente Bakterien ist. Dass Rohkost auch eine Quelle sein kann, ist weniger bekannt. So zeigte beispielsweise eine deutsche Studie aus dem Jahr 2018, dass Salat ein Reservoir für Antibiotikaresistenzen sein kann (Blau K et al. 2018). Forschungen in den USA (2019) zeigen, dass resistente Bakterien aus Gemüse den Darm besiedeln können.