New studies on consumer health protection and environmental awareness

New studies on consumer health protection and environmental awareness

The Federal Institute for Risk Assessment and the German Environment Agency (UBA) published the latest survey results, which reflect consumers’ views on antibiotic resistance, food safety and agriculture.

The Consumer Monitor is a representative survey that reflects consumers’ views on aspects of consumer health protection. It is published twice a year by the published by the German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR).

In it also the topic antibiotic resistance takes a large role for the consumers. 85% of the asked persons is the topic well-known. It is remarkable that 57% of the consumers declared to be worried about antibiotic resistance. Although concern has fallen by 11% compared to 2018, antibiotic resistance remains the issue of greatest concern to consumers.  Further more, microplastics and pesticide residues (including glyphosate) are also causing great concern.

In this respect, the current Environmental Awareness Study 2018 in Germany provides further information. Similary, more than 60% of the respondents stated that they regard pesticides as a very big environmental problem and burden in agriculture. 56% also regard the pollution of water bodies and drinking water by eutrophication as a very big problem.

In the end substances such as antibiotics can enter water systems and drinking water through the application of liquid manure and can also return to humans via various cycles. As a result what is initially only considered an environmental problem can thus soon become a health risk for humans.

Sources:

BfR Consumer Monitor 02 | 2019

Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU) 2019, Environmental Awareness Study 2018

Neue Studien zu gesundheitlichem Verbraucherschutz und Umweltbewusstsein

Neue Studien zu gesundheitlichem Verbraucherschutz und Umweltbewusstsein

Das Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung sowie das Umweltbundesamt veröffentlichten neuste Umfrageergebnisse, die die Sicht der Verbraucher auf Antibiotikaresistenzen, wie auch Lebensmittelsicherheit und Landwirtschaft wiedergeben.

Der Verbrauchermonitor ist eine repräsentative Umfrage, die die Sicht der Verbraucher auf Aspekte des gesundheitlichen Verbraucherschutzes wieder gibt. Dieser wird vom Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung zweimal im Jahr veröffentlicht.

Darin nimmt auch das Thema Antibiotikaresistenz eine große Rolle für die Verbraucher ein. 85% der Befragten ist das Thema bekannt. Beachtlich ist, dass 57% der Verbraucher angaben, über Antibiotikaresistenzen beunruhigt zu sein. Obwohl die Besorgnis um 11% gesunken ist im Vergleich zu 2018, ist Antibiotikaresistenz nach wie vor das Thema, welches die größte Besorgnis bei den Verbrauchern auslöst. Für ebenfalls große Beunruhigung sorgen die Themen Mikroplastik und Reste von Pflanzenschutzmittel (inkl. Glyphosat).

Diesbezüglich gibt die aktuelle Studie zum Umweltbewusstsein in Deutschland weitere Angaben. So geben über 60% der Befragten an, dass sie Pflanzenschutzmittel als sehr großes Umweltproblem und Belastung in der Landwirtschaft ansehen. 56% sehen zudem die Belastung von Gewässern und Trinkwasser durch die Überdüngung als sehr großes Problem an.

Stoffe wie Antibiotika können durch das Ausbringen von Gülle in die Gewässer und das Trinkwasser gelangen. Dadurch können sie über verschiedene Kreisläufe auch zurück zum Menschen gelangen. Was zunächst nur als Umweltproblem gilt, kann somit schnell zu einem Gesundheitsrisiko für den Menschen werden.

 

Quellen:

BfR-Verbrauchermonitor 02 | 2019

Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU) 2019, Studie zum Umweltbewusstsein in Deutschland 2018